Way of the Cross

The fourth stop of the circuit is in the Rotunda de Santa Teresa de Ourém (Rotunda Sul), the starting point of the Way of the Cross.


Way of the Cross in the Shepherds Way and Hungarian Calvary
Beginning at the roundabout of St. Theresa of Ourém (South roundabout) and following the path usually travelled by the three infant shepherds, Lúcia, Jacinta and Francisco from Aljustrel to Cova da Iria, the Way of the Cross in the Shepherds Way ends at the Hungarian Calvary – which was originally called “Hungarian Calvary Cardinal Mindzenty” – of which the chapel is dedicated to St. Stephen, King of Hungary.


The fourteen Stations of the Way of the Cross and the chapel, offered by Catholics from Hungary, were designed by Ladislau Marec. The first stone of the Way of the Cross was blessed on June 21, 1959 and the first stone of the chapel on August 11, 1962. The 15th station, inaugurated on October 13, 1992, was offered by the Hungarian parish of Lajosmizse in gratitude for the “resurrection” of Hungary.


Before reaching Santo Estêvão Chapel, visitors can see “Loca do Cabeço”, the spot where the three little shepherds received the “Peace Angel” for the first and the third time (in Spring and Autumn 1916).


This is a place of sheer confinement, absolutely preserved, where olive trees and oaks define the spirit of the place.


The Hungarian Calvary and the Way of the Cross are a true must for all pilgrims travelling to the altar of the world, seeking for faith and the answer to their daily problems. This is the perfect place for praying and introspection.


More information:
Fatima Shrine official page: www.fatima.pt.


The photo of the Hungarian Calvary was kindly provided by the World Apostolate of Fatima (www.fatimaphotos.com). More photos at www.fatimaphotos.com.


Comboio de Fátima -


Comboio de Fátima -